Championship of Champions: Final Results

Paul-Jon (PJ) Patin, Sayville Yacht Club, Sayville, NY, beat 18 other champion contenders in this year’s coveted US Sailing Championship event raced in a Sunfish. Each competitor had to be a current US National, North American, or World Champion helmsperson in one of the eligible One-Design Classes.


In addition to being World Champion in the Sunfish Class and this year’s International Maseters Sunfish Champion, Paul-Jon won the 2016 JY15 National Championship and has also won championships in the Interclub Dinghy Class. Paul-Jon has also served as President of the International Sunfish Class Association (ISCA) for the past 6 years.


Paul-Jon said that this year’s competition was “awesome!” He said he met some of the “nicest people” here and hopes to see all of them at a future Sunfish event where Sunfish Class members can always find them a boat to sail. He mentioned he thought the competitors were starting to appreciate the Sunfish more as they got more familiar with the boat and realized that sailors of all sizes and ages can race this boat very competitively. What the other competitors appreciated was being helped with rigging their boats and shown go-fast rigging tips by all seven of the competitors whose primary boat is a Sunfish.


Sailing hard and fast to move into the #1 spot at the top of the fleet were 2nd place Greg Gust ,Rush Creek Yacht Club, Rockwall, TX, and 3rd place Eugene Schmitt, New Orleans. Greg and Eugene were one point apart fighting for those two top spots! Trophies will be awarded to the top three places with Paul-Jon also winning the Jack Brown Perpetual Trophy. Jack Brown served as judge, regatta organizer, and was a US Sailing Committee Member.

The final results are:

1 Paul­-Jon Patin (JY15); 2 Greg Gust (Sunfish) ; 3 Eugene Schmitt (Sunfish); 4 Doug Kaukeinen (Sunfish); 5 Rich Chapman (Force 5); 6 Blaire McCarthy (Youth­Laser 4.7); 7 Christian Spencer (Youth­X Boat)) ; 8 Matt Fisher (Interlake); 9 Marguerite Koehler (Sunfish); 10 Mike McCaffrey (DaySailer); 11 Stephan Baker (Youth­Opti)); 12 Nicholas Marwell (Youth­Club 420); 13 Mark Allen (Force 5); 14 William Boll (NE Beetlecat); 15  Bob Abelin (SJ21); 16 Hugh Freund (Silver Medalist Paralympic Special Guest sailor); 17 Conor Ruppen (Highlander); 18 Eduardo Cordero (Sunfish ­ withdrew after Day 1 due to arm injury); 19 Ed Montano (Buccaneer 18).